I Prevail – Band Feature

Like The Rock Riff on Facebook –http://www.facebook.com/TheRockRiff

You can follow The Rock Riff on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/TheRockRiff

I Prevail is an American metalcore band formed in Southfield, Michigan and established in 2013.

The band currently consists of Brian Burkheiser – clean vocals , Eric Vanlerberghe – unclean vocals, Steve Menoian – lead guitar, Lee Runestad – drums, Dylan Bowman – rhythm guitar, backing vocals and Tony Camposeo on bass guitar.

The band was formed on the 1st of December 2014 and shortly thereafter they started working on their EP. On the 10th of December I Prevail released the first two singles from the EP, “Love, Lust, and Liars” and “The Enemy”. The band became popular after posting a cover of Taylor Swift’s “Blank Space” on YouTube on the 17th December 2014. To date the video has received over 30 million views.

The band released their debut EP, Heart Vs. Mind on the 26th of January 2015. The EP moved over 60,000 copies as I Prevail toured with the likes of Hollywood Undead and Crown The Empire in 2015 on Day of the Dead tour and they opened for Pop Evil in December. On the 12th of March 2015  rhythm guitarist Jordan Berger left the band due to other commitments. The band added touring members Tony Camposeo on bass and Dylan Bowman on rhythm guitar. The band embarked on a few tours namely the Heart Vs. Mind tour, Massive Addictive tour and The Crossroads tour.

On the 17th of May 2016 the band announced that they would be embarking on a headlining tour with support acts being The White Noise, My Enemies and I and Bad Seed Rising.

In early 2016, the boys retreated to Wall of Sound Studios in the small and secluded town of Riley, Michigan to work with trusted producers B.J. Perry and John Pregler. The band worked a year on their EP before they released anything publicly. This allowed the band to learn one another’s musical style. This process prepared the band for the writing and recording for their debut album, they were able to merge their vision in order to create the sound they wanted on the album.

On the 20th of June it was revealed that the name of the band’s debut album would be Lifelines and it would be made available on the 20th of October 2016. The first single titled “Scars” was released on the 1st of July 2016 and you can view the music video below.

I Prevail supported Pierce The Veil and Neck Deep on the Journey’s Made to Destroy tour throughout the fall of 2016. The second single from the band’s debut album “Stuck In Your Head” received a lot of attention from rock music fans and was listed on numerous blogs/websites as one of the best rock songs in 2016 including our list:


This is how I discovered the band and their music, now I’m addicted and the rest is history. 😉

The third single off the album “Come and Get It”, released on Short.Fast.Loud, an Australian-based punk and hardcore radio show on youth station Triple J. I Prevail was nominated for “Breakthrough Band” at the 2016 Alternative Press Music Awards and has since garnered features from Billboard, Detroit Free Press, AXS, Loudwire. 

I love how I Prevail always has just the right amount of clean vs unclean vocals. In general I’m not a metalcore fan, but I Prevail may have single-handedly converted me. The majority of their songs have catchy choruses laced with enough angst for any hard rock music fan. The band has created a beautiful balance with their layered vocals and a solid sonic backdrop.

I Prevail on Twitter: https://twitter.com/IPrevailBand

Rock Regards,





Band of the Month – Amaranthe

Like The Rock Riff on Facebook –http://www.facebook.com/TheRockRiff

You can follow The Rock Riff on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/TheRockRiff

Amaranthe is a Swedish-Danish metal band and what makes this band extremely unusual is their amalgamation of three vocal styles performed by three different members of the band. The pop style vocals are performed by Elize Ryd, the rock vocals are performed by Jake E and Henrik Englund can be credited with the death metal style vocals.

The band was formed by Jake E (formerly from Dreamland, Dream Evil) and Olof Mörck (Dragonland, Nightrage) in 2008 , the project began taking shape when singers  Elize Ryd (toured with Kamelot), Andreas Solveström (Cipher System, Within Y) and drummer Morten Løwe Sørensen (The Cleansing, Koldborn, Mercenary) signed on. Originally Jake E and Olof wanted to start the band as a side project to the bands that they were already a part of with the intention of doing an all-star project together with several prominent members of the Gothenburg metal scene. Following the response the band got from the songs that they posted on MySpace they realised this could become more than just a side project.  After the band’s photo shoot for their Leave Everything Behind demo bassist Johan Andreassen (Engel) joined, so he was present for the recording of their first album. Initially Andy and Elize were simply intended as guest vocalists on the record, however the dynamics within the group became such that they were able to create something fresh and exciting.

The band was originally called “Avalanche” up until May of 2009 when they were forced to change their name to “Amaranthe” due to legal issues. A guy from Sweden owned the rights to the name “Avalanche” and he threatened to sue the band and they then decided it wasn’t worth the fight. “Amaranthe” means “the never-fading”.   They later released the demo called “Leave Everything Behind”. The band’s debut album “Amaranthe” was released in April 2011 and reached 35th position on the Swedish charts and 16th on the Finnish charts. Reviewers gave “Amaranthe” mixed reviews see-sawing between love and hate for the album.

The band’s second album The Nexus was released on various dates in March 2013. This album was the first to introduce a song without any harsh vocals namely,  “Burn WIth Me”. According to the band this album was more controversial in terms of the mix of genres that are used on the album and they had more creative freedom than before. “The Nexus” reached sixth position on Swedish charts, fourth on Finnish charts and peaked at twelfth position on the US Heatseekers charts.

In October 2013, unclean vocalist Solveström left the band and was replaced by Henrik Englund (Scarpoint).

Amaranthe’s third album “Massive Addictive” released on the 21st of October 2014.

A wide array of genres, artists and styles have influenced the band since its inception, but for Olof personally melodic death metal has always had a strong influence, bands such as Soilwork, In Flames and Scar xxxSymetryxxx.

The exact definition of the band’s genre of music that they produce will, in my opinion, always result in great debates which is not always a bad thing. At the end of the day I believe that the genre of the music is not as important as the people who listen and enjoy an album/song. Music is an abstract art that is meant to be enjoyed and not analyzed.

I love their song and music video for Drop Dead Cynical!

See for yourself:

You can follow the band on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/Amaranthemetal

Follow Olof Mörck on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/OlofMorck

Follow Elize Ryd on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Elizeryd

Follow Morten on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mortendrummer

Follow Jake E on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JakeEamaranthe/

Rock Regards,

Lauren K

Elize Ryd from Amaranthe. Divine Wail by SilviusLupis Source: http://silviuslupis.deviantart.com/art/Divine-Wail-334202885 Credits to the photographer.

Elize Ryd from Amaranthe.
Divine Wail
by SilviusLupis
Source: http://silviuslupis.deviantart.com/art/Divine-Wail-334202885
Credits to the photographer.

Agata Alina Sieradzka Photography (https://www.facebook.com/AASieradzka)

Agata Alina Sieradzka Photography (https://www.facebook.com/AASieradzka)